Trying…

Well, I’m on day two of this headache.

Last night, after laying in bed all day wishing my head would stop hurting, I pulled myself together and went out with friends.  I honestly didn’t feel like going out, making small talk over dinner, and sitting through a concert in a very uncomfortable chair, but I didn’t feel like I had a choice.  I think I made it through most of the dinner without giving myself away, but by the time we got to the theater, the only thing I wanted was my bed.  Sitting in the stiff backed chair, hardly moving for two hours only made things worse.  By the end of the concert, I could barely process my own thoughts.  As we gathered with friends in the lobby post concert, I tried my best to be pleasant.  I forced a smile here and there, but when we finally got to the car my husband asked what my problem was.  He said I had been rude to some of the people, and that I was acting like I was angry about something.  What could I do but sigh? He knew I’d been dealing with a headache all night.

I know living with me and my headaches can’t be fun for him. I know he must get frustrated.  But sometimes I really wish I could let him walk in my shoes (or occupy my body) for just one day to see what I mean when I say I’m having a bad headache.  I want him to realize that I really am trying. That I am fighting this.  That I want to be normal and healthy and pain free!

Maybe it is a matter of educating? I need to do a better job of explaining my condition? Since I look okay, it is hard for people to understand how bad I feel.  If there were some visible sign of my pain it would be easier.

Any ideas out there?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

